Serendipity: An Introduction

75567.original

The word Serendipity is often described as a fortunate accident or the act of making happy discoveries by something that wasn’t initially in quest for. While it can be largely agreed upon that the best moments of life are often unplanned, some tend to go awry, making the unexpected surprises more of a detriment rather than a blessing in ones lives. As an individual who has experiences both types of serendiptious events practically on a daily basis, I’ve selected to blog those incidents.

The first incident to share is the initiation of this blog.

Choosing to start blogging my life incidents and transforming my thoughts into words is my attempt at silencing myself verbally. Contrary to those who have difficulties with expressing their emotions, I find it challenging to keep myself from overreacting and not being honest. I think this despite being told my honesty is one of my best characteristics. To me the golden rule that “honesty is the best policy”, while agreeable, its not always the best route to go with. Whether it be learning of a difficult truth or facing an obvious fact head on, like all things in life, it has its pros and cons. Its ability to be liberating comes with the consequence that something or someone in its pathway may get hurt. Hence, the ability to be fully honest has slowly dwindled after seeing its aftermath on various peoples lives, including my own.

The filter is up, words are carefully chosen, and things that are normally addressed head on, I’ve now chosen to withhold it from leaving my mouth. Instead, all thoughts, feelings, problems, etc. are now confined to one single place… this blog. Writing (aka an emotion heightened word vomit), sleeping on it/stepping away, and then reflection, is how I hope to go about this process. This is an effort to reduce saying, “my bad I was just overreacting and not its not a big deal at all”. Hopefully this process will make me more patient but allow me to re-discover my voice.

“Every one of us is losing something precious to us. Lost opportunities, lost possibilities, feelings we can never get back again. That’s part of what it means to be alive.” —Haruki Murakami, Kafka on the Shore

Leave a Reply

